Understanding Schizophrenia by
Written by two physicians with decades of clinical and research experience in the field, this volume helps readers face schizophrenia by understanding what it is and how it is managed. * Provides a succinct, introductory guide to getting started on the road to understanding schizophrenia * Answers questions commonly asked at initial diagnosis and later, and explains facts and concepts using real-world examples and pictorial illustrations * Offers practical, evidence-based, and up-to-date information * Clarifies the nonmedical burdens of schizophrenia, such as loneliness, socialization, and coping with negative emotions * Presents an authoritative, reliable alternative to Internet sources that contain biased or inaccurate information * Helps those who are diagnosed with schizophrenia get the most out of their lives
Obsessive-Compulsive Symptoms in Schizophrenia by
This book summarizes scientific advances in our understanding of the interrelationship between obsessive-compulsive symptoms and schizophrenia and reflects on the implications for future research directions. In addition, guidelines are provided on practical assessment, diagnosis and treatment interventions, covering both pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy. The book acknowledges the need for a perspective that recognizes heterogeneous subgroups and diverse neurobiological explanations; accordingly, multidimensional research-based conceptual frameworks are provided that incorporate recent epidemiological, neurocognitive, neurogenetic and pharmacodynamic findings. Obsessive-Compulsive Symptoms in Schizophrenia has been written by an international team of experts who offer insights gained through their extensive experience. It will be an invaluable guide to this frequent and clinically important comorbidity and will be particularly useful for mental health practitioners.
Our Most Troubling Madness by
Schizophrenia has long puzzled researchers in the fields of psychiatric medicine and anthropology. Why is it that the rates of developing schizophrenia--long the poster child for the biomedical model of psychiatric illness--are low in some countries and higher in others? And why do migrants to Western countries find that they are at higher risk for this disease after they arrive? T. M. Luhrmann and Jocelyn Marrow argue that the root causes of schizophrenia are not only biological, but also sociocultural. This book gives an intimate, personal account of those living with serious psychotic disorder in the United States, India, Africa, and Southeast Asia. It introduces the notion that social defeat--the physical or symbolic defeat of one person by another--is a core mechanism in the increased risk for psychotic illness. Furthermore, "care-as-usual" treatment as it occurs in the United States actually increases the likelihood of social defeat, while "care-as-usual" treatment in a country like India diminishes it.
Fast Facts for Managing Patients with a Psychiatric Disorder by
Brimming with practical insights and strategies, this unique Fast Facts resource delivers concise, quick-access information about caring for patients with common physical complaints who also have a psychiatric diagnosis. It is the first book written for nonpsychiatric nurses in multiple clinical settings to address the needs of patients with comorbid diagnoses, and it facilitates the integration of skills and strategies that support recovery for patients diagnosed with mental illness. Delivered in a convenient pocket-sized format, the guide delivers comprehensive information in easy-to-access short chapters, bulleted lists, tables, and figures, along with "Fast Facts in the Spotlight" boxes featuring key information. Unique "Spotlight on the Unit" case studies illustrate common scenarios that nurses might encounter on the nursing floor. The book covers the diagnoses of common psychiatric disorders and addresses the symptom alliance between various medical diagnoses and mental illness, and substance abuse and co-occurring mental disorders. Also included are strategies for establishing a therapeutic alliance with patients who have psychiatric disorders and issues posing challenges for nurses in specific clinical settings. Additionally, the book explores the legal and ethical issues surrounding provision of care to patients with mental illness. Key Features: Delivers quick-access information about caring for patients with comorbid diagnoses--the first book to do soWritten for nonpsychiatric nurses in a variety of clinical settingsPresents key information in short chapters, bulleted content, lists, tables, and figures plus "Fast Facts" boxesCovers the diagnoses of common psychiatric disorders and destigmatizes patients with mental illnessProvides strategies for fostering successful nursing interventions
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
Content review Case studies NCLEX®-style questions Too much information? Too little time? Here's everything you need to succeed in your psychiatric mental health nursing course and prepare for course exams and the NCLEX®. Succinct reviews of content in outline format focus on must-know information, while case studies and NCLEX-style questions develop your ability to apply your knowledge in simulated clinical situations. A 100-question final exam at the end of the book as well as two, 75-item comprehensive examinations online at DavisPlus.com provide the practice you need. You'll also find proven techniques to help you study more effectively, learn how to approach different types of questions, and improve your critical-thinking skills. See what students are saying... "Gets straight to the juicy facts from page one in a systematic, easy-to-follow fashion using language that is easy to understand." - Amazon Reviewer "A great resource - much easier to read than our textbook!" - Margy Swenson, Student at Utah State University Eastern "Excellent Well written and well organized, this books provides a comprehensive review of issues and elements of psychiatric nursing. The questions are pertinent and the answers are detailed without being excessive. While it is ideal as a prep for test, it is also an excellent review or study aid for nursing students. A superb book well worth the investment." - Amazon Reviewer "Necessary Resource. Don't question -- just get it. I cannot stress this enough: if you are studying to have a speciality in Psychiatric Mental Health you need this book. There are practice tests (with answers in the back with details explanations of those answers). There are chapters on content. There are online resources you get free with this book. Each book has a code in order for you to access these resources. This is a book full of valuable information. It is a necessity. It is an investment that will bless you big time and will equip you to pass the necessary tests and become the Mental Health NP you want to be." - Amazon Reviewer "A must buy for exam takers This is a MUST for all psychiatric nurses and exam takers. Everything you need to know to pass is in this book, easily explained. Five stars." - Amazon Reviewer
The Neuropsychopathology of Schizophrenia by
One of the first major theoretical reviews of schizophrenia since the publication of the 5th edition of the APA's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, the DSM-5, this volume is a landmark in the history of schizophrenia research. It assembles recent groundbreaking developments in research on schizophrenia and reaffirms its central place in the mental health research agenda. Significantly, this volume reflects the paradigmatic shift in schizophrenia research applied in parallel to new approaches in psychiatric diagnosis. New models and findings from across disciplines in recent years reflect a new and greater understanding of the workings of the brain, which, in turn, helps develop our knowledge of the neuro and psychological processes in schizophrenia. Consequently, this volume illustrates a historical convergence of psychology, psychopathology and the neurosciences in schizophrenia. World-renowned leaders of the schizophrenia research community in fields such as neuroscience, p sychiatry, neuropsychology, and clinical psychology offer clear suggestions for further advances in psychological and medical interventions, assessment, prevention strategies, and research. And in keeping with other titles in the Nebraska Symposium on Motivation series, these papers are noteworthy for their depth of detail, scientific rigor, and clinical relevance.Included among the topics: Cognitive organization as a dimension of individual differences and psychopathology. Neurodevelopmental genomic strategies in the study of the psychosis spectrum. Multimodal brain and behavior indices of psychosis risk. The NIMH Research Domain Criteria Project: new approaches to classifying psychotic spectrum disorders. The Neuropsychopathology of Schizophrenia is one of the most forward-thinking and engaging treatments of the field in recent years, and is an indispensable text for all researchers, academics, and clinicians who treat or study mental illness, especially psychiatrists, psychologists, mental health practitioners, and neuroscientists specializing in schizophrenia.
Child and Adolescent Psychopathology by
A unique, multi-discipline, developmental approach to childhood psychopathology Child and Adolescent Psychopathology is the only comprehensive text in the field to address genetic, neurobiological, and environmental factors within a developmental context. Based on cutting-edge research and aligned with the DSM-5, this book emphasizes how, when, and why disorders emerge among young people, and the ways in which symptom profiles change at different stages of development. This new third edition has been updated to include new chapters on OCD and trauma disorders consistent with DSM-5 classification, and includes new discussion on epigenetics and the neighborhood effects on the development of delinquency. Coverage includes extensive discussion of risk factors, from disturbed attachment relations and abuse/neglect, to head injury and teratogen exposure, followed by in-depth examination of behavior disorders and psychological disorders including Autism Spectrum, Schizophrenia Spectrum, and Eating Disorders. Psychological disorders in children are increasingly being explored from a relational perspective, and continuous advances in neurobiology research are adding an additional dimension to our understanding of cause, effect, and appropriate intervention. This book provides detailed guidance toward all aspects of childhood psychopathology, with a multi-discipline approach and a unique developmental emphasis. Discover how psychopathology emerges throughout the stages of development Learn how both genetics and environmental factors influence risk and behaviors Understand the prevalence, risk factors, and progression of each disorder Gain deep insight from leading experts in neurobiology and developmental psychopathology As the field of child psychology continues to evolve, behavioral and psychological disorders move beyond a list of symptoms to encompass the 'whole child'?biology, chemistry, environment, and culture are becoming increasingly relevant in understanding and treating these disorders, and must be considered from the earliest assessment stages. Child and Adolescent Psychopathology provides comprehensive information on childhood disorders from a developmental perspective.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by
Thoroughly updated to correlate with DSM-5 diagnostic descriptions and QSEN guidelines, the second edition of this highly acclaimed undergraduatepsychiatric nursing text features concrete strategies for establishing interpersonal relationships as the basis not only for working with the psychiatricpatient population, but as a timeless foundation for all nursing practice. The text guides students through the essential phases of self-discoverynecessary to integrate interpersonal nursing theory into practice. Modules designed to foster growth in therapeutic use of self, including the importanceof boundary management, are integrated with psychodynamic and current neurobiological theories to provide sturdy theoretical underpinnings for practice. A wealth of descriptive psychiatric diagnoses of DSM-5, QSEN criteria, and NANDA-based care plans, case scenarios, evidence-based practice, patientand family education tips, drug summary lists, and complementary and alternative therapy approaches populate the text. The main body of the book focuses oncommon mental illnesses and weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological concepts into evidence-based strategies for nursing interventions. Additionalfeatures, such as examples of therapeutic dialogue and a 'AuConsumer'Aos Perspective, 'Au featuring an actual consumer'Aos voice relating personal experience aboutliving with a specific illness, provide further guidance in understanding and adopting a relationship-based approach to nursing. Web links facilitate quickaccess to additional information and NCLEX-style review questions prepare students for passing the NCLEX exam. New to the Second Edition: Revisions correlate to DSM-5 descriptions, QSEN criteria, and NANDA nursing diagnoses Provides new information on psychopharmacology, compassion fatigue and a recovery model, use of informed consent, and cognitive behavioral therapy Presents updates on complementary and alternative interventions Includes expanded content on cultural and life span considerations related to mental health care worldwide Key Features: Focuses on interpersonal relationships and boundary navigation as the foundation for practice Promotes psychodynamic and neurobiological perspectives within ISPN curricular guidelines Written by national and international experts in nursing education and psychiatric-mental heath practice Includes a digital student companion with key chapter concepts and critical thinking questions for practice situations Provides digital faculty resources including PowerPoint slides, an expanded test bank, case studies, and critical thinking exercises Includes free e-book with purchase of the print book
Rapid Mental Health Nursing by
A concise, pocket-sized, A-Z rapid reference handbook on all the essential areas of mental health nursing, aimed at nursing students and newly qualified practitioners. Covers a broad range of mental health disorders, approaches interventions and conditions Easy to locate practical information quickly in a pocket sized, rapid reference format The topics and structure are mapped on to the NMC's (2010) Standards for Pre-registration Nursing Education and their required essential skills and knowledge.
Books in the library and online:
Use IvyCat to find materials in Ivy Tech Libraries and to link to ebooks.
Use this IvyCat quick search box for a search limited to ebooks:
