Skip to Main Content

Disability Awareness

Ivy Tech Official Statement on Diversity, Equity and Belonging

*Each of the videos on this Library Guide is equipped with closed captioning. Click on "CC" or the settings button to turn on the closed captioning.

How to Contact Disability Support Services at Ivy Tech


There is a link to Disability Support Services on each student's MyIvy Page. Click on the "Ivy Services & Support" Icon on the dashboard for more information.

Ivy Tech Support Services

According to the WHO, disability has three dimensions:

Impairment in a person’s body structure or function, or mental functioning; examples of impairments include loss of a limb, loss of vision or memory loss.

Activity limitation, such as difficulty seeing, hearing, walking, or problem solving.

Participation restrictions in normal daily activities, such as working, engaging in social and recreational activities, and obtaining health care and preventive services.

People First Languge

Related Guides

What is Disability Awareness Month?

Disability Awareness Month is observed every year, paying tribute to the accomplishments of the men and women with disabilities whose work helps keep the nation's economy strong and reaffirming their commitment to ensure equal opportunity for all citizens.


What is a Disability?

Per the CDC, a disability is any condition of the body or mind (impairment) that makes it more difficult for the person with the condition to do certain activities (activity limitation) and interact with the world around them (participation restrictions).


What is an Invisible Disability?

An invisible disability refers to symptoms such as debilitating pain, fatigue, dizziness, cognitive dysfunctions, brain injuries, learning differences, and mental health disorders, as well as hearing and vision impairments. These are not always obvious to the onlooker, but can sometimes limit daily activities, ranging from mild challenges to severe limitations, and vary from person to person. More information about invisible disabilities


What is the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)?


The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) became law in 1990. The ADA is a civil rights law that prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities in all areas of public life, including jobs, schools, transportation, and all public and private places that are open to the general public. The purpose of the law is to make sure that people with disabilities have the same rights and opportunities as everyone else. The ADA gives civil rights protections to individuals with disabilities similar to those provided to individuals on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, age, and religion. It guarantees equal opportunity for individuals with disabilities in public accommodations, employment, transportation, state and local government services, and telecommunications. The ADA is divided into five titles (or sections) that relate to different areas of public life.

In 2008, the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act (ADAAA) was signed into law and became effective on January 1, 2009. The ADAAA made a number of significant changes to the definition of “disability.” The changes in the definition of disability in the ADAAA apply to all titles of the ADA, including Title I (employment practices of private employers with 15 or more employees, state and local governments, employment agencies, labor unions, agents of the employer and joint management labor committees); Title II (programs and activities of state and local government entities); and Title III (private entities that are considered places of public accommodation). More Information