Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancient Egyptian art refers to art produced in ancient Egypt between the 31st century BC and the 4th century AD. It includes paintings, sculptures, drawings on papyrus, faience, jewelry, ivories, architecture, and other art media.
The Treasures of Ancient Egypt Film Series, Episode 1
Taking in Egypt's greatest historical sites, Alastair Sooke tells the story of Ancient Egyptian art through 30 extraordinary masterpieces. Tracing the origins of Egypt's unique visual style, he treks across the Sahara and travels the Nile to find the rarely-seen art of its earliest peoples. Exploring how this civilization's art reflected its religion, he looks anew at the Great Pyramid, and the statuary and painting of the Old Kingdom. (52 minutes)
A BBC Production.
Treasures of Ancient Egypt: Episode 2
On a journey through Ancient Egyptian art, Alastair Sooke picks treasures from its most opulent and glittering moment. Starting with troubling psychological portraits of tyrant king Senwosret III and ending with the golden mask of boy king Tutankhamun, Sooke explores architectural wonders, exquisite tombs and a lost city—site of the greatest artistic revolution in Egypt's history where a new sinuous style was born under King Akhenaten and Queen Nefertiti. Along the way Egyptologists and artists reveal that the golden veneer conceals a touching humanity. (52 minutes)
A BBC Production.
Treasures of Ancient Egypt: Episode 3
A New Dawn is an epic adventure through Ancient Egypt, in which journalist and art critic Alastair Sooke tracks down the treasures of the longest-lasting civilization in history and uncovers the true story of their rise and fall throughout the ages. Stepping aside from the well-worn usual cliches of this era, in A New Dawn he discovers how Egypt’s unique melting pot of geography and culture created some of the most remarkable treasures the world has ever seen. Specifically he shows the Nubian and Hellenistic influences on late Egyptian art.
A BBC Production.
Egypt's Golden Empire: Pharaohs of the Sun
Egyptian Gods and Goddesses
E-Books on Egyptian Art
The Beautiful Burial in Roman Egypt by This important new study looks at the intersection of Greek and Egyptian art forms in the funerary sphere of Roman Egypt. A discussion of artistic change, cultural identity, and religious belief foregrounds the detailed analysis of more than 150 objects and tombs, many of which are presented here for the first time. In addition to the information it provides about individual works of art, supported by catalogue entries, the study explores fundamental questions suchas how artists combine the iconographies and representational forms of different visual traditions, and why two distinct visual traditions were employed in Roman Egypt.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
A Companion to Ancient Egypt, 2 Volume Set by This companion provides the very latest accounts of the major and current aspects of Egyptology by leading scholars. Delivered in a highly readable style and extensively illustrated, it offers unprecedented breadth and depth of coverage, giving full scope to the discussion of this incredible civilization. Provides the very latest and, where relevant, well-illustrated accounts of the major aspects of Egypt's ancient history and culture Covers a broad scope of topics including physical context, history, economic and social mechanisms, language, literature, and the visual arts Delivered in a highly readable style with students and scholars of both Egyptology and Graeco-Roman studies in mind Provides a chronological table at the start of each volume to help readers orient chapters within the wider historical context
Publication Date: 2010-05-06
Consuming Ancient Egypt by Consuming Ancient Egypt examines the influence of Ancient Egypt on the everyday lives of contemporary people, of all ages, throughout the world. It looks at the Egypt tourist sees, Egypt in film and Egypt as the inspiration for opera. It asks why so many books are published each year on Egyptological subjects at all levels, from the austerely academic to the riotous celebrations of Egypt as a land of mystery, enchantment and fantasy. It then considers the ways in which Ancient Egypt interacts with the living world, in architecture, museum going, the acquisition of souvenirs and reproductions, design, and the perpetual appeal of the mummy. The significance of Egypt as an adjunct to (and frequently the subject of) marketing in the consumer society is examined. It reveals much about Egypt's immemorial appeal and the psychology of those who succumb to its magic.
Publication Date: 2010-06-30
Dancing for Hathor by The fragmentary evidence allows us only tantalising glimpses of the sophisticated and complex society of the ancient Egyptians, but the Greek historian Herodotus believed that the Egyptians had 'reversed the ordinary practices of mankind' in treating their women better than any of the other civilizations of the ancient world . Carolyn Graves-Brown draws on funerary remains, tomb paintings, architecture and textual evidence to explore all aspects of women in Egypt from goddesses and queens to women as the 'vessels of creation'. Perhaps surprisingly the most common career for women, after housewife and mother, was the priesthood, where women served deities, notably Hathor, with music and dance. Many would come to the temples of Hathor to have their dreams interpreted, or to seek divine inspiration. This is a wide ranging and revealing account told with authority and verve.
Publication Date: 2010-05-07
Egypt by From Roman villas to Hollywood films, ancient Egypt has been a source of fascination and inspiration in many other cultures. But why, exactly, has this been the case? In this book, Christina Riggs examines the history, art, and religion of ancient Egypt to illuminate why it has been so influential throughout the centuries. In doing so, she shows how the ancient past has always been used to serve contemporary purposes. Often characterized as a lost civilization that was discovered by adventurers and archeologists, Egypt has meant many things to many different people. Ancient Greek and Roman writers admired ancient Egyptian philosophy, and this admiration would influence ideas about Egypt in Renaissance Europe as well as the Arabic-speaking world. By the eighteenth century, secret societies like the Freemasons looked to ancient Egypt as a source of wisdom, but as modern Egypt became the focus of Western military strategy and economic exploitation in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, its ancient remains came to be seen as exotic, primitive, or even dangerous, tangled in the politics of racial science and archaeology. The curse of the pharaohs or the seductiveness of Cleopatra were myths that took on new meanings in the colonial era, while ancient Egypt also inspired modernist, anti-colonial movements in the arts, such as in the Harlem Renaissance and Egyptian Pharaonism. Today, ancient Egypt--whether through actual relics or through cultural homage--can be found from museum galleries to tattoo parlors. Riggs helps us understand why this "lost civilization" continues to be a touchpoint for defining--and debating--who we are today.
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
The Experience of Ancient Egypt by The Experience of Ancient Egypt provides a comprehensive portrait of what we know about ancient Egypt today, examining in detail issues of religion, of beliefs and practices surrounding death, of everyday life and of literature. In an engaging style, the author traces Egyptology from its classical roots, through the painstaking process of deciphering Egyptian hieroglyphs in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, to the most up-to-date bio-medical and archaeological techniques, never forgetting how time has proved that it is impossible to deliver the absolute truth about ancient Egypt.
Publication Date: 2002-09-09
Kmt A Modern Journal of Ancient Egypt If you’ve ever visited Egypt in books, television documentaries or in person, you’ll be captivated once again by the allure of that great long-gone civilization which has amazed the modern world since its rediscovery some 200 years ago. If you’re an “armchair Egyptologist” (not necessarily a professional scholar, but enthralled nonetheless by all things ancient Egyptian) Kmt, A Modern Journal of Ancient Egypt will take you to the Two Lands of your daydreams. The Journal’s information packed articles are written in an “accessible,” easy-to-under-stand style by professional scholars, as well as knowledgeable enthusiasts for everything ancient Egyptian. Most articles are fully documented with “end notes,” enabling readers to pursue further personal study of subjects of special personal interest.
Alaa Awad quote
"Because this is our country, and this is our history. Without our past we can't know ourselves. And we cannot find our future, if we forget our past." ~ Alaa Awad, graffiti artist in Egypt, from the BBC film A New Dawn: The Treasures of Ancient Egypt