Search using keywords; avoid long phrases for best results. Put short phrases into quotes: "sustainable agriculture."
Consider synonyms for your keywords: pigs = swine. Consider broader terms: goats = ruminants. If your results are too broad, try narrower terms, add another term using AND, limit the date range.
When you find results you like, notice the subject tags, and use these terms to focus your search.
These databases provide topic overviews including concept maps, "pro" and "con" points of view, primary sources, and timelines. Recommended for starting research on any topic.
More than 1,200 reference works providing background information for topics ranging from agriculture to technology. Search within multiple sources using keywords, or browse topics in different subjects. Recommended for introductory research in all topics. Browse Subjects covered by Credo Reference.
Scholarly articles, News articles and Audio-visual content, Opinions, Primary sources, Reference, and Websites on topics of social interest. Scholarly content and general reader. Recommended for argumentative research.
Overview articles, opinions, some primary sources, presenting multiple sides of topical issues. Browse topics or keyword search. Designed for argumentative research.
Agriculture topic search terms: "animal rights"; Biofuels; Factory farming search "factory farm"; "farm subsidies"; "food insecurity"; "food safety"; Genetically Modified Food search food AND "genetically modified" ; Globalization; Local Food Movement search Subject "local food"; Nutrition; "organic food"; "population growth"; "renewable energy"; "urban agriculture"; Water Pollution search Subject water pollution without quotes; Western Diet search "western diet" or search "western pattern diet"
Recommended databases for agriculture topics are below. For some topics, trade journals may be better than peer-reviewed journals; check with your professor.
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment including topics such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Resources include sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, websites and more.
Full-text coverage of scholarly content most relevant to vocational programs. Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges.
To find books in all formats, search in IvyCat. Notice the Subject tags in the search results; use these as keywords to focus your search. You can also search individual eBook databases.
Recommended Ebook databases for Agriculture topics:
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas
Extensive collection of online academic books in all subject areas.
Open Access Resources are freely available online. They may or may not be peer-reviewed. Searching is less controlled than in library databases.
