HISTORY Course Guide - Indianapolis

Written in a lively, engaging style and designed to complement the high school social studies curriculum, this reference vividly recreates and analyzes pivotal encounters, exchanges, and conflicts between cultures and civilizations that profoundly influenced the course of human history. It covers all regions of the globe - Asia, Africa, Europe, the Middle East, the Americas, and the Pacific - and all time periods and forms of encounters - from the early trade networks of the Fertile Crescent in 5,000 B.C.E to the spread of monotheism in late antiquity and the early Middle Ages, through Columbus's arrival in the Americas, and up to the expansion of the World Wide Web. Each article details one encounter, highlighting the historical background of the civilizations or cultures involved; describing the exchange; and analyzing its social, political, economic, and cultural significance. Each entry includes a timeline; a map; primary source documents related to the exchange; a sidebar summarizing the proliferation of goods, practices, and ideas; bibliographic citations; black-and-white and four-color illustrations; and cross-references. Other features include a general introduction, glossary, and special indexes in each volume.

Chronology of World Slavery combines multiple chronologies, sidebars on specialized topics, primary source documents, and gripping illustrations into a compelling portrayal of slavery from the dawn of civilization to the present. Organized by geographic region and time period, this work enables readers to gain a quick understanding of how long slavery has been part of human life and where it has occurred. Chronology of World Slavery is the ideal companion to The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery (ABC-CLIO, 1997). Together, these works span all world cultures and time periods to examine humankind's most perplexing--and persistent--historical issue.

Criss-crossing the globe from the prehistoric era to the modern day, Professor Jeremy Black takes you on a whirlwind tour of our past, leaving no stone unturned as he brings to life the fascinating history of civilisation. Mankind has accomplished remarkable feats - building great cities, creating beautiful art forms and developing new modes of communication. At the same time, warfare discrimination and poverty reveal the darker side of human nature. This incredible illustrated volume covers all of the above, from the birth of agriculture to the two world wars, delving into the vast range of human experience over the millennia. A History of the World forms an essential reference guide for modern-day amateur historians, providing a perfect foothold into this sprawling history.

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition, Fourteen Volume Set embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. This updated edition will assist readers in their research by providing factual information, historical perspectives, theoretical approaches, reviews of literature, and provocative topical discussions that will stimulate creative thinking. Presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage on the topic of human geography Contains extensive scope and depth of coverage Emphasizes how geographers interact with, understand and contribute to problem-solving in the contemporary world Places an emphasis on how geography is relevant in a social and interdisciplinary context.

Western Political Thought: From Plato to Marx is a lucid and comprehensive account of political thought that stretches from ancient Greece to the nineteenth century. Analysing political philosophies chronologically, this book offers valuable insights into the political structures of societies across the ages, and presents a wide perspective on the various social and political ideologies. Each of the 12 chapters has boxes with excerpts from the original works by the philosophers, a comprehensive reading list and thought provoking questions on the philosophies discussed in the book.