Political Science Course Guide - Indianapolis

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, Fourth Edition provides the most comprehensive coverage available on the governments and political parties of the world's nations. Each country is described in terms of its system and organization of government, as well as the processes through which political parties or interests bring their influence to bear on government. Since the previous edition was published in 1999, new countries have formed and the government systems of others have changed completely. New parties and coalitions have altered the political landscape in many countries, and elections have taken place in most. Written by a team of political scientists and academic experts, the signed articles of this fourth edition reflect the most current information available. Each article includes a comprehensive list of further reading. Coverage includes: system of government; power and responsibilities of various government branches; the electoral system; the party system (origins, organizations, campaigning); major political parties (history, organizations, policy, membership, financing, leadership, prospects); minor political parties; other political forces; and national prospects.

This comprehensive reference covers all aspects of politics and voting--from elections and campaigns, to major political figures and parties, to the role of media and major activist groups. As America's population changes, so do its political trends. This insightful resource captures the evolution of American politics and elections in the 21st century, explaining the identities and roles of lobbyists, activists, politicians, and voters. Featuring contributions from distinguished researchers and academics in the areas of political science, social science, and journalism, this encyclopedia explores the contemporary political landscape, offering an opportunity to compare and contrast related decisions, events, and statistical information from the recent past. Informative background essays explore all aspects of voting-related politics and policy, evolving electoral trends and the issues that account for those changes, and the impact of the ever-changing composition of America's population on polling and elections. This work incorporates the results of the 2012 elections, thus providing important insights into modern voting trends and their meaning for the future of the United States.

Every four years, coverage of the presidential elections turns into a horse-race story about who is leading, and who said what then. Fleischer explains the past, present, and future of American elections; how the election process actually works and why it matters; and how young people can become involved-- not just this year, but for years to come.

This collection breaks new ground in police communication research. It involves the first instance of the same dataset being analysed from different theoretical and methodological perspectives as well as providing original and detailed insights into both monolingual and bilingual UK police interviews and US police interrogations of suspects. The topics include the role of metacommunication and its appropriate vs. inappropriate use in evidence elicitation, assessment of mitigation vs. aggravation strategies in questioning, identification of right vs. wrong empathy and the importance of getting it right, effects on complexity in police speak on quantity and quality of information obtained, and the multiple challenges that affect interpreter-mediated exchanges in this highly sensitive communicative context.

This Open Access edited collection calls for a greater understanding of ‘the local’ within the ways the arts, culture and creative practices are governed, promoted, regulated, resourced and valued. Cultural policy studies tends to privilege the national (and international) as the primary site at which cultural policy is enacted, and focuses on the ‘local’ as a case study of practice, rather than a site of policy in its own right. While this may make global policy transfer manageable for national policy agencies, it ignores the contingent relationships, diverse geographies and distinct identities of localities.