Education - Indianapolis

Here is a list of links to help you explore the growing number of Web sites devoted to children's literature.

• Children's Books via About.com(childrensbooks.about.com)
• Children's Literature in Wikipedia(en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Children%27s_literature)
• Young Adult Literature via Yahoo!(dir.yahoo.com/Arts/humanities/literature/genres/young_adult)

• Storytelling via Yahoo!(dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Performing_Arts/Storytelling)

• International Storytelling Center(www.storytellingcenter.net)
• National Storytelling Network (NSN)(www.storynet.org)
• Story Arts Online(www.storyarts.org)

   

• 100 Picture Books Everyone Should KnowNew York Public Library (kids.nypl.org/reading/recommended2.cfm?ListID=61)
• Aspects of the Victorian Book: Children's BooksThe British Library (www.bl.uk/collections/early/victorian/chil_thu.html)
• Beyond the Letters: A Retrospective of Children's Alphabet BooksLibrary and Archives Canada (www.collectionscanada.ca/abc/index-e.html)
• Children's Books of the Early Soviet EraMcGill University Libraries (digital.library.mcgill.ca/russian)
• Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project(www.childrensbooksonline.org)
• Children's Literature, Chiefly from the Nineteenth Centurycourtesy of Rare Books and Special Collections, University of South Carolina (www.sc.edu/library/spcoll/kidlit/kidlit/kidlit.html)
• Children's Picture Books Databaseat Miami University (www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/)
• The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art(www.picturebookart.org)
• Fairy Tales & Folktales via Yahoo!(http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/mythology_and_folklore/folklore/folk_and_fairy_tales)
• The Great Menagerie: The Wonderful world of Pop-Up and Movable Books, 1811-1996University of North Texas (www.library.unt.edu/rarebooks/exhibits/popup/main.htm)
• A Guide to Children's Literature and Disability(www.kidsource.com/NICHCY/literature.html)
• International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) University of Maryland/Internet Archive(www.icdlbooks.org)
• Multicultural Resources for Childrencourtesy of the Internet School Library Media Center (falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/multipub.htm)
• Page by Page: Creating a Children's Bookcourtesy of National Library and Archives of Canada (www.collectionscanada.ca/pagebypage/index-e.html)
• Picturing Books: A Website about Picture Books(picturingbooks.imaginarylands.org)
• Pop-Up and Movable Books: A Tour through Their HistoryUniversity of North Texas (www.library.unt.edu/rarebooks/exhibits/popup2/default.htm)
• World of the Child: Two Hundred Years of Children's BooksUniversity of Delaware Library (www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/exhibits/child/index.htm)
• Young American ReadersUniversity of Kansas (spencer.lib.ku.edu/exhibits/monaghan/content.htm)

   

• Canadian Children's Literature (CCL/LCJ)seminannual journal (ccl.uwinnipeg.ca)
• The Horn Book Virtual History Exhibitexplore the history of children's books (www.hbook.com/exhibit)
• The Lion and the Unicornindexing only courtesy of Project Muse (muse.jhu.edu/journals/lion_and_the_unicorn)
• School Library Journal(www.schoollibraryjournal.com)

   

• Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) a division of the American Library Association
  (www.ala.org/ALSCTemplate.cfm?Section=ALSC)
• The Center for Children's BooksUniversity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (ccb.lis.uiuc.edu)
• Children's Literature Centerat the Library of Congress (www.loc.gov/rr/child)
• Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)University of Wisconsin-Madison (www.education.wisc.edu/ccbc)
• International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY)(www.ibby.org)
• National Center for Children's Illustrated Literature (NCCIL)(www.nccil.org)
• Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI) (www.scbwi.org)

Twitter can also be a useful online resource.  Try following your favorite children's and young adult authors.  Here are some other feeds (mostly of publishers) you may enjoy.

TO FIND WORKS WRITTEN OR ILLUSTRATED BY A SPECIFIC AUTHOR:

Select Author at the Main Menu, then type the writer's name last-name-first. Correct spellingi s important.

Example: grahame kenneth (press RETURN or ENTER)

Or just: grahame ken (RETURN)

To limit search results to items owned by Central Indiana North Meridian Center, click on Limit To:  then select Central Indiana North Meridian Center, from the drop-down menu.

TO FIND WORKS WRITTEN ABOUT A SPECIFIC WRITER:

Select Subject at the  Main Menu, then type the writer's name last-name-first.

Correct spelling is important. To limit results to items owned by Central Indiana North Meridian Center, click Limit To: and press Search.

Example: rowling j k (press RETURN or ENTER)

 

 

CONSULS will retrieve a list of Library of Congress Subject Headings which begin with the words you typed:

Rowling J K(main heading is subdivided)

Rowling J K--Characters--Harry Potter

Rowling J K--Criticism and interpretation

Rowling J K--Encyclopedias

PLEASE NOTE: Personal name headings may also be subdivided by the titles of individual works, for example:

Rowling J K--Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

TO FIND WORKS WITH A SPECIFIC TITLE:

Select Title at the Main Menu, then type as much of the title as you remember in correct word order. In CONSULS, you may omit "a," "an," or "the" at the beginning of a title.

Example: harry potter and the sorcerer's stone (press RETURN or ENTER)

Or just: harry potter and the (RETURN)

If your TITLE search does not retrieve an entry for a separately published edition of the work, click Keywords to re-execute the search as a keywords search, and then scan the CONTENTS field of each entry for the title of the work you need.

TO FIND INFORMATION ABOUT A SPECIFIC TOPIC BY SUBJECT HEADING:

Select Subject at the Main Menu, then type the Library of Congress subject heading which best describes your topic. Correct spelling and word order are important. The complete list of Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) is published in a set of big red booksavailable in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Haas Library.

Example: Fantasy literature, American--History and criticism (press RETURN or ENTER)

Or just: fantasy literature (RETURN)

The following Library of Congress subject headings are relevant to children's literature:

Children's literature(many subdivisions)

Children's literature--20th century

Children's literature--American--History and Criticism

Children's literature--Authorship

Children's literature--Bibliography

Children's literature--Bio-Bibliography

Children's literature--Book reviews

Children's literature--English - History and criticism

Children's literature--History and criticism

Children's literature--Study and teaching

Fantasy fiction, American

Fantasy fiction, English

Fantasy literature, American--History and criticism

Fantasy literature, English--History and criticism

 

 

See also:

Alphabet rhymes	High interest-low vocabulary books
Children--Books and reading	Illustrated children's books
Children--United States--Fiction	Illustrators--United States--Biography
Children in literature	Juvenile fiction (subdivided by theme)
Children's literature in series	Limericks, juvenile
Children's plays	Lullabies
Children's poetry	Mother Goose
Children's reference books	Nursery rhymes
Children's stories	Picture books for children
Counting-out rhymes	Readers for new literates
Fables	Science fiction
Fairy tales	Storytelling
Folk literature	Talking books for children
	Toy and movable books

TO FIND INFORMATION ABOUT A SPECIFIC TOPIC BY KEYWORD(S):

Select Keyword(s) at the  Main Menu, then type the words which best describe your topic, in any order.

Example: (child* or juvenile) and fantasy and (literature or fiction) press RETURN or ENTER

Narrower search: (lewis carroll or kenneth grahame) and fantas* (RETURN)

Use the * (asterisk) as a truncation symbol to retrieve variant forms of a word root. Use the Boolean OR to expand your search by including synonyms and related terms. When using two different Boolean commands in the same search statement ("and" and "or" in the preceding example) you must include parentheses to indicate which command is to be performed first.

FOR CHILDREN'S BOOKS

Best Kids Books:    Contains hundreds of reviews of books and audiovisual items for children from infants to teens.

Book Reviews by Kids:   Book reviews and ratings written by kids age 18 and under, not searchable; browse only.

Bookhive:    Produced by the librarians of the Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg County (North Carolina), this site includes children's book reviews searchable by age, author, title, and illustrator, plus activities, digital books and stories you can listen to. 

Bookhooks:    Canadian web site where teens can publish illustrated book reviews.

Building Rainbows:   Searchable book reviews and ratings written by kids.

GraphicNovelReporter:  Includes reviews of graphic novels, interviews with authors and illustrators, a blog, and more.

KidsReads.com:    Includes reviews, children’s books that have been made into movies, links to authors’ web pages, lists of children’s book series, and more.

Picturing Books:    Web site on picture books—includes a glossary of terms, online reviews, and activities to accompany Denise I. Matulka’sA Picture Book Primer (c2008).

School Library Journal Reviews:  Covers books and audiovisual materials.

SlimeKids:  Browse through the large collection of online video book trailers, search the collection of book reviews for kids by kids, and browse through the collection of links to author web pages.  Also includes games and other resources for kids.

Spaghetti Book Club:   Searchable book reviews written by kids for kids, founded by educator Julie Rosemarin.

Teenreads.com:      Includes reviews of new young adult books, author biographies and interviews, advice on starting a book club, and discussion guides.

Teens Read Too:    Contains many reviews of young adult books as well as author interviews and news releases about forthcoming books, book excerpts, and lists of award winners.

Through the Looking Glass Children’s Book Reviews:    Includes book reviews of board and novelty books, chapter books, novels, picture books, and non-fiction from famous children’s literature authors.

World of Reading:   Ann Arbor District Library’s collection of reviews written by and for kids from around the world.

URL: http://mvcc.libguides.com/bestsellers