Books in the library are shelved by Library of Congress call number in the general collection and reference.
Ebooks are also available through our databases or by searching IvyCat.
Browse the HV section to find books about criminal justice. Books about law can be found in the K section.
To see more information about the books below, hover your cursor over the 
icon.
| Criminology | HV | 6001-7220.5 | Police, Detectives, Constabulary | HV | 7551-8280.7 |
| Criminal anthropology | HV | 6035-6197 | Special classes of crimes, offenses and criminals | HV | 8035-8069 |
| Criminal classes | HV | 6201-6249 | Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of prisoners | HV | 8073-8079.35 |
| Crimes and offenses | HV | 6774-7220.5 | Police social work | HV | 8079.2-8079.35 |
| Criminal justice administration | HV | 7231-9960 | Private detectives. Detective bureaus | HV | 8081-8099 |
| Prevention of crime, methods, etc. | HV | 7431 | Penology. Prisons. Corrections | HV | 8301-9920.7 |
Modern Control Theory and the Limits of Criminal Justice by
In 1990 when Michael Gottfredson and Travis Hirschi published A General Theory of Crime, now often referred to as self control theory, it quickly became among the most discussed and researched perspectives in criminology. In Modern Control Theory and the Limits of Criminal Justice, Gottfredsonand Hirschi develop and extend the theory of self control advanced in their classic work. Focusing on the methodology of testing crime theory and measuring behavioral research on crime and delinquency, they critically review the evidence about self control theory. Gottfredson and Hirschi furtherdiscuss evidence about the positive consequences of higher levels of self control from education, economics, and public health, that - along with evidence from delinquency and crime - show substantial support for the theory of self control. Illustrating the theory through predictions about policing,incarceration, juvenile justice, and the connection of immigration policy to crime, this book connects self control theory to the structure and function of the criminal justice system, then applies the theory to pressing issues of public policy about delinquency and crime.
Criminology by
Crime is an important social issue and how policymakers deal with crime (via crime policy) can have enormous social and financial implications. The fourth edition of best-selling Criminology: Theory, Research, and Policy discusses criminal behavior and explores the factors that contribute to crime as well as the social reactions to crime. By making the connection between theory, research, and policy, the authors demonstrate the relevancy of criminological theory in the public attempt to control crime while providing justice. The emphasis on these three elements with pertinent discussions and examples is what sets this text apart from other criminology titles.
Crime, Prisons, and Jails by
The Information Plus Reference Series provides statistical data on 32 of todays most controversial and most studied social issues. Each Information Plus title is a compilation of current and historical statistics -- with analysis -- on aspects of one contemporary social issue, such as abortion, capital punishment, and genetic engineering. Each title is divided into chapters that are devoted to a particular topic. The text provides a clear and comprehensive summary of up-to-date research on the topic and is interspersed with the statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Each table is directly referred to and carefully explained in the text. Designed as ready-reference tools, Information Plus titles save researchers and students from the cumbersome task of locating statistics from various sources. Information Plus data are compiled from reports generated by branches of the U.S. government, information collected by major independent polling organizations and authoritative associations, and from professional journals, newspapers, pamphlets, and other reliable sources. With the text presented in an even-handed and unbiased manner, Information Plus is an excellent resource for researchers who want to understand social issues and controversies and draw their own conclusions about them. Each thoroughly indexed volume provides complete source citations for the statis
Contemporary Issues in Victimology by
Contemporary Issues in Victimology: Identifying Patterns and Trends examines current topics in victimology and explores the main issues surrounding them. Key topics include: intimate partner violence and dating violence, rape and sexual assault on the college campus, Internet victimization, elder abuse, victimization of inmates, repeat and poly-victimization, fear of crime and perceived risk of crime, human trafficking, mass shootings, and child-to-parent violence. Each chapter includes information about the specific topic, including the nature of the issues, trends, current research, policy, current issues, and future challenges.
Murder, Madness and Mayhem by
Mike Browne, host of the popular Canadian podcast Dark Poutine, chronicles some of his all-time favourite stories of true crime and dark history from Canada and around the world. Divided into four sections --Murders with a Twist, Perpetual Puzzles, The Madness of Crowds and Notable Disasters -- all the stories in this collection (except two) are brand new and haven't been covered by the podcast. In Murders with a Twist, Browne recounts seven true crime stories with atypical elements, including weird motives, unusual perpetrators and bizarre murder weapons. In one case, we meet a man who is willing to kill to possess a human voice. In another, two women play a deadly game to prove their love to each other. Perpetual Puzzles covers six stories that remain unresolved and will leave you with more questions than answers. They include the archaeological find of the century, which turns out to be something far more sinister, as well as the discovery of a dead man on the beach with a mysterious clue in his pocket. The Madness of Crowds reveals that murder and mayhem are sometimes a group effort. We meet two young Canadians who leave home one summer to find work and instead end up on a murder spree, and a bizarre California cult that asks its members to topple the Mormon church. The book concludes with Notable Disasters, which describes some of the most tragic and deadly events in history, including the deadly tsunami in the Indian Ocean on December 26, 2004, as well as the devastating Grenfell Tower fire in London in June 2017. The book includes a foreword by Alan R. Warren, bestselling true crime author and host of the House of Mystery Radio Show.
Mindhunter by
Now a Netflix original series Discover the classic, behind-the-scenes chronicle of John E. Douglas' twenty-five-year career in the FBI Investigative Support Unit, where he used psychological profiling to delve into the minds of the country's most notorious serial killers and criminals. In chilling detail, the legendary Mindhunter takes us behind the scenes of some of his most gruesome, fascinating, and challenging cases--and into the darkest recesses of our worst nightmares. During his twenty-five year career with the Investigative Support Unit, Special Agent John Douglas became a legendary figure in law enforcement, pursuing some of the most notorious and sadistic serial killers of our time: the man who hunted prostitutes for sport in the woods of Alaska, the Atlanta child murderer, and Seattle's Green River killer, the case that nearly cost Douglas his life. As the model for Jack Crawford in The Silence of the Lambs, Douglas has confronted, interviewed, and studied scores of serial killers and assassins, including Charles Manson, Ted Bundy, and Ed Gein, who dressed himself in his victims' peeled skin. Using his uncanny ability to become both predator and prey, Douglas examines each crime scene, reliving both the killer's and the victim's actions in his mind, creating their profiles, describing their habits, and predicting their next moves.
To access any of our ebooks, you will need to be signed in to MyIvy.
You have several options to search for ebooks through the library.
Click here to do an advanced search in IvyCat, Ivy Tech's online catalog. Under the Additional Limits section, choose Electronic Resources from the format type drop-down list.
For other ebook catalogs and databases, take a look at our A to Z list of resources. You can filter the type to Book and Ebook collections to see what's available.
Below are a few examples of the thousands of ebooks we have available:
Methods of Criminology and Criminal Justice Research by
The eleven chapters in this volume of Sociology of Crime, Law and Deviance discuss a variety of issues of methodological significance in research in the fields of criminology and criminal justice studies. As scholarly work on various aspects of crime, deviance, criminal justice, and social control has progressed tremendously in recent decades, both in terms of scope as well as with respect to theoretical approaches, the employed methods of investigation have also broadened and advanced to be as sophisticated as those used in any other area of contemporary social-science inquiry. The authors in this volume demonstrate the methodological maturity and diversity of current empirical research in criminology and criminal justice in a number of areas, such as general trends of crime, criminal networks, violence against women, sex work, elder financial exploitation, school safety, immigrant detention, extremism on the internet, and human trafficking. Presenting a state-of-the-art overview of criminological and criminal justice methodologies today, this book is of interest to a wide range of scholars and students in the fields of criminology, sociology, justice policy, and criminal justice.
Crime, Justice, and Society by
Now fully revised, Crime, Justice, and Society is designed not only to introduce students to the core issues of criminology, but also to help them think critically about often-sensationalized topics. Features of the 4th edition include: a student-friendly, streamlined organization; firsthand perspectives from offenders, victims, and criminal justice professionals; expanded coverage of corporate and government crime; a focus on the dynamics of class, race, and ethnicity; a chapter on drug-related crime and antidrug laws; and discussions of topics in the news such as marijuana laws, sex trafficking, stand-your-ground policies, and more, This new edition of a now-classic text--both accessible and sophisticated--will be welcomed by students and instructors alike.
Producing Bias-Free Policing by
This Brief provides specific recommendations for police professionals to reduce the influence of implicit bias on police practice, which will improve both effectiveness (in a shift towards evidence-based, rather than bias-based) practices and police legitimacy. The author is donating her proceeds from this book to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund (nleomf.org).
The Handbook of Criminological Theory by
An indispensable resource for all levels, this handbook provides up-to-date, in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology. Provides original, cutting-edge, and in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology Covers the origins and assumptions behind each theory, explores current debates and research, points out knowledge gaps, and offers directions for future research Encompasses theory, research, policy, and practice, with recommendations for further reading at the end of each essay Features discussions of broad issues and topics related to the field, such as the correlates of crime, testing theory, policy, and prediction Clearly and accessibly written by leading scholars in the field as well as up-and-coming scholars
