History 111 & History 112 - World History - Indianapolis - Ivy Tech Libraries at Ivy Tech Community College

HISTORY 112

Presents the key individuals, events and schools of thought, which have most greatly impacted societal development and world history since 1500. Key movements and events of the periods will be studied. Discusses the political, economic, social and cultural evolution of civilization.

Topical Areas

Exploration
Revolutionary Era
Colonization
Industrial Revolution
Reformation
Political Reaction
Counter-Reformation
Cold War
Age of Reason
Collapse of Communism
Political Philosophies
Economic Globalism
World War I and World War II
Economic Systems
Slavery
Technological revolution

Websites

BBC-History-World Wars
Encyclopedia of the Orient
Encyclopedia of World History
European History
Historical Text Archive The HTA publishes high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects. It was founded in 1990 in Mississippi and is one of the oldest history sites on the Internet.
History World
HyperHistory Online
Institute for Historical Research This British body, located at the University of London School of Advanced Study, has been offering a comprehensive web site for History in the UK and beyond since1993. Use History On-line to gain access to over 40,000 document including bibliographies, in
Internet History Sourcebooks Project - Paul Halsall/Fordham University
Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web This site, maintained by the Smithsonian Institute, features links to online exhibitions mounted by archives, libraries and museums in several languages. The sites include exhibit images with accompanying text, and full citations to the images. Contains l
Library of Congress
Marxist.org Internet Archive This British site attempts to bring together historical and contemporary material that can be termed Marxist, and includes a good deal of published material by Marx, Engels, Lenin, Trotsky, Rosa Luxemburg, and other greats which the editors claim is in th
Modern History Sourcebook
World Mapper
World War I Document Archive This site presents a collection of primary documents related to the First World War or the Great War.

History 111 World Civilization I

This course presents the key individuals, events and schools of thought, which have most greatly impacted societal development and world history up to 1650. The target civilizations of study include the Orient, Middle East, Western Europe, Africa & the Americas. Discusses the political, economic, social, and cultural evolution of human civilization.

Books

Websites

Working Papers in the Classics
Papyrus Archive
Digital Roman Forum
Abzu Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Perseus Encyclopedia
Classical/ Medieval History
Medieval Sourcebook
Vroma Project