Find Articles

Start your search in the Discover! box below, or go use the links to search specific databases.

Issues & Controversies (FoF) This link opens in a new window
Useful for overviews of many current topics in public affairs and social services. Provides topic overviews, Pro/Con perspectives, timelines, primary sources, and links out for further research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date coverage of current issues in public affairs and social services. Scholarly articles, News articles and Audio-visual content, Opinions, Primary sources, Reference, and Websites on topics of social interest. Scholarly content and general reader. Recommended for argumentative research.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines with full text for almost 1,200 journals
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Searches a variety of sources and document types relevant to Criminal Justice topics.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more. Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important -language social science journals.

Search Tips

Use Keywords

This is the most important rule of searching. Think of words that are most important to your topic. For example, instead of searching for “Laws for teenagers using cell phones while driving,” use the words “laws, cell phones, teen drivers.”

Try Synonyms

It can be useful to think of a couple of synonyms for key words. Using the example above, you could use “mobile phones” as well as “cell phones.” Slang is often a problem in searches. For example, “car” will get different results than “automobile” in many databases

Try Connectors (AND/OR/NOT)

The connectors are used to link your key words to one another. AND will limit a search and should be used to link different things or concepts. OR expands your search and should be used to link similar things. NOT can be used to exclude words that are muddying your search.