Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native American Heritage

An overview of Native American Culture and History


                                                                    3 chiefs purple.jpg

The Mandan, Hidatsa and Arikara Nation, also known as the Three Affiliated Tribes, is located on the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation in central North Dakota. The reservation is located on the Missouri River in McLean,  Mountrail, Dunn, McKenzie, Mercer and Ward counties. The reservation consists of 988,000 acres, of which 457,837 acres are owned by Native Americans, either as individual allotments or communally by the tribe.

The Tribal headquarters is located 4 miles west of New Town, ND. Chairman Mark N. Fox and the MHA Nation Tribal Business Council invite you to visit the Fort Berthold Reservation and learn more about our government, culture and history.

Student Connection

Meet Ivy Tech student Preston Lee Freeman and learn about his Native American Heritage

Assignment - Journal 2 - Veteran's Day 

Sep 16, 2020 11:34AM 

Preston Lee Freeman 

I would like to thank my great grandfather, grandfather, and  father who served in the military and their fore fathers before them. I am grateful for your service, you protected me, stood up for me, and for all the future generations of our people. You men paved the way for us and our tribe because of your service and acts of courage. You paved the way for our tribal sovereignty. I would like to thank you for you amazing courage! I will honor you by doing my best every day. Your courage is will never go unnoticed in my eyes. 

Preston Freeman is a Member of the MHA Nation - 

Hidasta and Arikara Tribe 

Sioux Tribe 

Ivy Tech Community College Student