Background information (e.g., encyclopedia entries and other reference materials) will provide you with a good overview of your topic/subject matter, but it will also:
 |
Tip: take note of the terminology/keywords in the information you’re reading, as you can use these as search terms later |
Use the databases below to find background information on your topic.
Credo Reference offers hundreds of searchable reference books on a wide variety of subjects including business, history, science, social science, and humanities.
Start your search using the Credo search box below!
While philosophy and sociology are two separate areas of study, they are also very much intertwined!
When you start learning about the primary areas, theories, and history of sociology, you’ll find that many of the early sociologists (such as Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Comte, Marx, and many more!) were prominent philosophers as well—so it may be helpful to search for information within the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
Use Britannica search box above to find articles, images/videos, timelines, dictionary entries, and primary sources on your topic. You'll also see 'Related’ tab at the top of every entry which has links to more items related to what you're reading.
Biography Reference Source provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, and narrative biographies not available in other databases.
You can browse biographies by genre (e.g., artists, authors, current world leaders, explorers, scientists, etc.), or just click the link below to go directly to a curated list of 162 different sociologists.
