If you couldn't find the articles you needed in Discover, you may find it easier to use our library databases instead.
Our databases contain reference materials, videos, eBooks, government documents, online resources, and thousands of full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers—basically, a lot of information from trusted sources available online 24/7 and free for students, faculty, and staff.
Check out links to our recommended databases below!
Library Databases vs. the InternetYour professor has probably asked that you find a certain number of scholarly or peer-reviewed sources for your project.
Finding scholarly sources in our databases is easy, but trying to use the internet to find these types of sources is difficult for a few reasons:
Bottom line: your professor wants the information you cite to be from credible academic sources, and it's much easier to find those sources in our library databases.
The following databases will return articles and other information covering a wide range of topics across multiple subjects—these are great to use when you need to find some sources but aren't 100% sure where to start.
Reference works, Scholarly journals, Trade publications, and important General interest magazines covering core academic subject areas. Help Guide available.
A multi-disciplinary database containing professional and peer-reviewed titles
The databases below contain resources focusing on sociology and other closely related fields. Use these to find specific articles after you've narrowed down your topic, or even as a tool to help you narrow down a broader research topic.