Skip to Main Content

Citing Sources: Sellersburg: Library Databases

Lilbrary Databases: Special Rules

Special Rules:

  • Magazines and scholarly journals are cited just as they are in print sources for volume and date.
  • If a database offers a PDF version of an article, use the PDF version in your citation.
  • Include page numbers as indicated in the citation information given in the database or as provided in the PDF. Write n. pag. whenever the article page numbers are unknown.
  • Italicize the database name.
  • Use the format Web.

Basic Format (Journal):

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title volume number.issue number (year): page number range of entire article. Database name. Web. Date accessed.

Basic Format (Magazine):

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Magazine Title day month (abbreviated) year: page number range of entire article. Database name. Web. Date accessed.

Library Databases: Citation Examples

Academic Search Complete (Journal Article)
Miller, Kathleen E. "Wired: Energy Drinks, Jock Identity, Masculine Norms, and Risk Taking." Journal of American College Health 56.5      (2008): 481-90. Academic Search Complete. Web. 29 Jan. 2010.

Academic Search Complete (Magazine Article)
Fox, Steve. "Facebook vs. Reality: Who Needs to Get a Life?" PC World June 2009: 7. Academic Search Complete. Web. 15 Nov. 2009.

Biography in Context (Book - one volume in a multi-volume set)
"Barack Obama." Contemporary Black Biography. Vol. 49. Thomson Gale, 2005. Biography in Context. Web. 28 Sept. 2009.

Business Source Complete
Lee, Elaine. "Do Good, Get Rich." Black Enterprise May 2008: 72-75. Business Source Complete. Web. 15 June 2009.

CQ Researcher
Clemmitt, Marcia. "Health-Care Reform." CQ Researcher 11 June 2010: 505-28. CQ Researcher. Web. 25 Dec. 2010.

eBook Collection
Evenson, Renee. Customer Service Training 101. American Management Association, 2011. eBook Collection. Web. 8 June 2012.

Gale PowerSearch

*NOTE: PowerSearch is a collection of five different databases (Academic OneFile, General OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, Gale Virtual Reference Library and Professional Collection). Use the database referenced in the article for your citation.

"Tweet Child O' Mine: How Twitter Is Changing Music." Billboard 30 May 2009: 22-27. General OneFile. Web. 15 June 2009.

“What They Got For It…Elvis’s Sideburns.” Maclean’s 26 Oct. 2009:74. GeneralOne File. Web. 6 Apr. 2010.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Burnfeind, Daniel B. “Genetics, Melanomas, and Teens’ Indoor Tanning.” Dermatology Nursing 21.1 (2009): 53-54. Health and Wellness Resource Center. Web. 5 Apr. 2009.

JSTOR
Heydt-Stevenson, Jill. “Slipping into the Ha-Ha: Bawdy Humor and Body Politics in Jane Austen’s Novels.” Nineteenth-Century Literature 55.3 (2000): 309-339. JSTOR. Web. 13 Sept. 2006.

Literature Resources from Gale

Robertson, Bryan. "Top-Notch Churchill." The Spectator. 11 Sept. 1982: 25. Rpt. in Drama Criticism. Ed. Lawrence J. Trudeau. Vol. 5. Detroit: Gale, 1995: 25. Literature Resources from Gale. Web. 15 June 2009.

Weintraub, Erica Beth. "Caryl Churchill." British Dramatists Since World War II. Ed. Stanley Weintraub. Detroit: Gale, 1982. Dictionary of Literary Biography Vol. 13. Literature Resources from Gale. Web. 15 June 2012.

Whitsitt, Sam. "In Spite of It All: A Reading of Alice Walker's 'Everyday Use'." African American Review 34.3 (2000): 443. Literature Resources from Gale. Web. 5 May. 2011.

New York Times Historical Edition
“Against Women Voting.” New York Times 4 Dec. 1905: 6. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times. Web. 16 May 2004.

NewsBank
"Drilling Off Florida Coast Still a Bad Idea." Editorial. Miami Herald 22 Apr. 2009: A16. NewsBank. Web. 15 June 2009.

Kahn, Chris, and Sandy Shore. “Study: Jobs in Fledgling Green Sector Growing.” Associated Press News Service. 10 June 2009: n.pag. NewsBank. Web. 11 June 2009.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (selection from an anthology or edited book)
Houck, Oliver. "The Oil Industry Has Been Destroying Louisiana’s Environment for Decades." BP Oil Spill. David Haugen. Detroit: Greenhaven, 2012. At Issue. Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 8 June 2012.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Magazine or Newspaper Article)
Hollenbach, David. "Human Rights, Justice and the World Church.” America 30 Oct. 2006: 10. Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Web. 16 June 2009.