Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Sciences - Indianapolis

Health Sciences Resources

Welcome

Welcome to Ivy Tech Community College Guide for the Health Sciences. This guide will help you locate information for research and general course assignments.

Start Here! Best Databases for Health & Medicine

Other Health & Medicine Databases

The library databases below are available 24/7 and provide access to more than 1,000 titles in the fields of health & medicine.  

Electronic Books

The library provides access to numerous eBooks on health and medicine topics.  You can search for eBook titles in the eBook collections below or search the Ivy Tech statewide catalog, IvyCat by author, title, or subject and select "Electronic Resources" for location.

Streaming Video

Coronavirus Information

Careers in Healthcare

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Outlook for Each Program

Library eBooks

Diseases and Conditions

Looking for a topic?

There are links below for resources on diseases and conditions and other health topics.  If you're looking for a topic, try looking here...

Respiratory Diseases & Disorders

  • Lungs & Breathing - MedlinePlus has a long list of respiratory system-related topics, including conditions like asthma, COPD, mesothelioma, pneumonia, and sleep apnea, to name a few
  • Blood, Heart, & Circulation - MedLinePlus list of diseases and conditions related to the cardiovascular system

ARDS

ASTHMA

CYSTIC FIBROSIS

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)

What is Complementary and Alternative Medicine?

Complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) is the term for medical products and practices that are not thought of as standard medical care.  CAM care involves the patient's mind, body, and spirit, and includes multidisciplinary approaches.

Complementary medicine is used along with standard medical treatment but is not considered by itself to be standard treatment. One example is using acupuncture to help lessen some side effects of cancer treatment.

Alternative medicine is used instead of standard medical treatment. One example is using a special diet instead of prescription drugs to treat a condition.

Integrative medicine is a total approach to care that combines standard medical treatment with the CAM practices that have been shown to be safe and effective.

Databases

Library eBooks

CAM Treatments for Cancer Patients

Diversity in Health Care

Non-Profit Organizations

United States Minority Health

Government Resources

Federal Websites

Health Statistics Tutorial

Some Health Statistics Resources

Evaluating Health Websites

Pharmacology / Drug Reference

Library Databases

Drug Reference Resources

PDR tutorial

Library eBooks - Drug Guides

National Library of Medicine - Drug toolbox

Anatomy & Physiology

Anatomy Models and Books in the Lawrence Library

Visit our Anatomy and Physiology section to find books and anatomy models to help you study.

Anatomage Table @ the Lawrence Library

The Anatomage Table is housed in the library and free for you to explore and use! It is the only fully segmented real human 3D anatomy system. Users can visualize anatomy exactly as they would on a fresh cadaver. Individual structures are reconstructed in accurate 3D, resulting in an unprecedented level of real accurate anatomy, dissectible in 3D. The Table allows for exploration and learning of human anatomy beyond what any cadaver could offer. 

Check out this tutorial for guidance on how to use the table.

Online Resources and Practice Quizes

Khan Academy

Crash Course Anatomy and Physiology

Blood Typing Game

Digestive/Respiratory System

BIOT

Find Articles

Videos

is a database of streaming videos for student use.  Check out some of the over 1000 videos with a biotechnology connection @ Films on Demand.

Scientific American -- Health

Loading ...

Coronavirus Information

Internet Resources

HIMT

HLHS

MEAS

MEAS Courses

MEAS 109: The Professional Medical Assistant (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

MEAS 110: Introduction to Clinical Practice (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

One Soft Skills Book

Preparing for Certification

Spotlight - CMA Today

Periodical Type:Academic

Publication Schedule: bi-monthly

Available: Print Version & Online Version

CMA Today Website

CMA Today is dedicated to meeting the educational and informational needs of the practicing medical assistant and, to a lesser extent, the medical assisting educator and student.Six times a year, CMA Today gives coverage of medical assisting issues and trends and detailed, in-depth articles on every aspect of medical assisting operations.

PARM

Career Information

Library eBooks

Certification Resources

RADT

RADT Courses

Library eBooks

Radiographic Anatomy

Professional Organizations

RESP

RESP Courses

RESP 101: Assessment and Caring for a Respiratory Patient  (6 Credits)
View Course Outline

TRUSTED WEBSITES  

VIDEOS  

RESP 102: Advanced Assessment and Care of a Cardiopulmonary Patient  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 103: Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

  VIDEOS  

RESP 104: Concepts in Adult Critical Care  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 105: Cardiopulmonary Pathophysiology  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 106: Cardiopulmonary Pharmacology  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 107: Clinical Applications of Assessment and Caring for a Respiratory Patient  (2 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 108: Clinical Applications in Advanced Assessment and Care of a Cardiopulmonary Patient  (2 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 201: Advanced Concepts in Cardiopulmonary Diagnostic Procedures  (4 Credits)
View Course Outline
 

VIDEOS

RESP 202: Pediatric and Neonatal Advanced Critical Care  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 203: Advanced Emergency Management  (1 Credit)
View Course Outline

RESP 204: Extended Care for the Cardiopulmonary Patient  (2 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 205: Advanced Respiratory Care and Comprehensive Review  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 206: Clinical Applications and Concepts in Critical Care I  (2 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 207: Clinical Applications and Concepts in Critical Care II  (3 Credits)
View  Course Outline

RESP 208: Clinical Applications and Concepts in Critical Care III  (5 Credits)
View Course Outline

RESP 209: Advanced Clinical Applications in Critical Care and Specialty Rotations  (3 Credits)
View Course Outline

Library eBooks

Breath Sounds

Breath Sounds Recordings

Listen to digital recordings of respiratory sounds in health and disease. Recordings are grouped into Normal, Wheezes, Crackles and Other sounds.  Select a recording from the menu below to listen to that sound, read a description of it, and view its respirosonogram (a visual representation of what you are hearing).

NORMAL WHEEZES CRACKLES OTHER
Vesicular (a) Wheezing (a) Crackles (a) Grunting
Vesicular (b) Wheezing (b) Crackles (b) Squawk
Tracheal Wheezing (c) Crackles (c) Stridor (a)
Bronchial Rhonchi (sonorous wheeze) Early Crackles Stridor (b)
Bronchovesicular   Late Crackles Croup
      Egophony
      Pleural Rub
      Whispering Pectoroliquy

Blood Gases

Chest X-Rays

Respiratory Topics

If you're looking for a topic for a RESP paper, try the links below.  MedlinePlus (created by the National Library of Medicine) provides an alphabetical list of links to symptoms, causes, treatment, and prevention for over 1000 diseases and health conditions.  Topics are regularly reviewed and links are updated daily.

  • Lungs & Breathing - MedlinePlus list of respiratory-related topics, including conditions like asthma, COPD, mesothelioma, pneumonia, and sleep apnea, to name a few.
  • Blood, Heart, & Circulation - MedlinePlus list of topics related to the cardiovascular system.
  • Kidneys and Urinary System - MedlinePlus list of topics concerning the kidneys and urinary system.

Respiratory Diseases

Case Studies

NBRC Credentialing and State Licensure

Professional Associations

SURG

Surgical Technology Program Information

Library eBooks

Print Journals

Print journals are found in the library reading area in alphabetical order.  Students may use the journals in the library or make copies for .10 cents per page.  

Websites

Multimedia

TMAS

Library eBooks

Videos

Professional Organizations

Licensing and Board Certification

Career Information

Business Resources for Massage Professionals and Entrepreneurs

Citation Guide

Need Help?

We're here for you!

Lawrence Library Hours

The library has variable hours during breaks, so check the website for the most up-to-date information.

Regular Hours:

Days Hours
Mon - Thur 9 am - 5 pm
Friday 9 am - 4:30 pm
Sat - Sun CLOSED

Ask a Librarian

If we're not open or you'd rather email, check out our Ask a Librarian page for email information and FAQs. You can also call us at 317-921-4219.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Liz Orban
she/her
Contact:
Liz Orban
Health Sciences Librarian
Lawrence Campus Library
Ivy Tech Community College
9301 East 59th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46216
317-921-4447

Schedule Appointment

Hi, I'm Liz Orban, Health Sciences Librarian at the Indianapolis-Lawrence Campus.

I am available for one-on-one consultations with students and faculty on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.  I may have other availability throughout the week, so email me directly to schedule an appointment if you don't find a time listed here that works for you! 

My subject area specialties include Nursing and Allied Health, but I am happy to offer assistance for general reference questions as well. 

To Schedule an Appointment:

  • Click on the link provided and select a 30-minute time slot
  • Please provide the following information:
    • Your name and email address
    • Phone number, if you would prefer to be contacted by phone rather than email (optional)
    • Course Number 
    • Assignment or research topic you need assistance with