Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Central: Guide to Library Resources for English Students: Find Articles

Journals/Mags in Print

Current issues of magazines and journals held by the library in print format may be found on display racks in the Periodicals section of your library. Ask library staff where back issues are shelved. The entire collection may be useful for English class research projects, but the following two focus on journalism and literature:

  • American Journalism Review
  • Poets & Writers

E-Journals at Ivy Tech

Access to specific magazines and journals online (from our library databases listed in the central box on this page) can be found using IvyJo. (See guide for help using IvyJo.)  Yes, you can browse an entire issue of an e-journal!

Click to see lists of journals under "Languages & Literature" or find them by using the drop-down menu in the search boxes below:

Find e-journals by title or ISSN

Browse e-journals by subject

Article Databases

Most of the library's journal titles are online and available 24X7 via the Virtual Library. To search electronic databases for articles, you can use the Search & Find > Articles section of the Virtual Library (see Library tab in Campus Connect) or click one of the databases listed below. [Note: When using this guide off-campus, you may be asked to log in to access protected library databases--use your Campus Connect ID and password.]

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) -- A multidisciplinary database with full-text of 3600 peer-reviewed titles dating back to 1975
  • Biography Resource Center -- Biographical information from books and from articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO) -- Nearly all areas related to business
  • CQ Electronic Library (CQ Press databases include Congress, Supreme Court, and Public Affairs Collections)
    • CQ Researcher (CQ Periodicals) -- In-depth coverage of a broad range of current topics (social issues, government, more)
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) -- Scholarly journals for medical topics
  • Health & Wellness Research Center (GALE)-- Health reference materials with journals and magazines (now more consumer-oriented)
  • LexisNexis Academic -- For news, business or legal topics
  • Inspire: Litfinder -- Short stories, essays, plays, speeches, poems--many full text (Also considered a reference tool, but included here because it now offers more resources for literary research)
  • Literary Reference Center -- more than articles; a well-rounded literature research tool (new for Fall 2008)
  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO) -- (for news) provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
  • Nursing Resource Center (GALE) -- Journal articles plus disease overviews, assessments, diagnostics, interventions, drug overviews, care plans, and multimedia
  • Nursing and Allied Health (GALE) -- Article collection from over 400 titles covering all aspects of the nursing profession
  • Opposing Viewpoints (GALE) -- for controversial issues; provides information from books, as well as articles
  • ProQuest -- Another multidisciplinary database with special collections on criminal justice, nursing and careers & technology; offers good search help.  Below is a search box to use ProQuest directly from this page (once you click "Search," you'll need to use your Back button to return to this guide):
  • ProQuest 
    Enter your search terms:
  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) -- PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology (for when English topics delve into mental health).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar results are now linking to library databases! 
We don't recommend it as your first or only step in research --
but can be a useful tool to find scholarly articles available at Ivy Tech:

Google Scholar

New to using Google Scholar?  Start here (guide).

Peer-reviewed, Scholarly Publications

Some databases provide an option to narrow your result list to articles from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. When you select this option the database will filter out any books, articles published in popular or trade journals, audio and video files, etc. Two such databases in the field of Education are Academic Search Premier and Proquest Research Library. Even when you know a journal is peer-reviewed, it does not mean that every article in that journal is of a "scholarly" level. Scholarly articles contain original research and are reviewed by a panel of experts before being published. However, book reviews or special feature sections, which are usually brief and offer opinions rather then original research and thus are not scholarly even though they may be published in a scholarly journal. ProQuest explains their policies this way on one of their Help screens:

A publication is considered to be scholarly if it is authored by academics for a target audience that is mainly academic, the printed format isn't usually a glossy magazine, and it is published by a recognized society with academic goals and missions.

A publication is considered to be peer reviewed if its articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area.) Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed. Some trade publications are actually peer reviewed, but ProQuest does not consider them when filtering on peer reviewed. This is because getting results from trade publications instead of academic journals can be frustrating to researchers. Instead, ProQuest excludes these peer reviewed trade publications and only considers publications that are scholarly in terms of content, intent, and audience.

Your instructor may also have specific criteria that you need to follow that is provided on your syllabus or during class.

See the links below for additional information on how to determine if an article is scholarly.

Subject Guide

Free Online